Saint Ved Vyas relating the Bhagwatam to Shukdeo (3100 B.C.)

The Encyclopedia of Authentic Hinduism by H.D. Swami Prakashanand Saraswati (the most important site on Hinduism, the Upanishads, modern Physics, Bhartiya, Sanatan Dharm and more)

(64) The Puranas, the Itihas
and the avataras (descensions) of God.

There are 18 Puranas: Brahm Puran, Padm Puran, Vishnu Puran, Vayu Puran, Bhagwat Maha Puran, Narad Puran, Markandeya Puran, Agni Puran, Bhavishya Puran, Brahm Vaivart Puran, Ling Puran, Varah Puran, Skand Puran, Vaman Puran, Kurm Puran, Matsya Puran, Garud Puran and Brahmand Puran.

Ramayan and Mahabharat are called the itihas (history) books because, along with the regular description of their own topic, they also tell a lot about the general history of that period.

The ten avataras:

Varah, Matsya, Kachchap, Nrasingh, Vaman, Parashuram, Ram, Krishn, Buddh and Kalki.

The twenty-four avataras:

Sankadik, Narad, Varah, Nar Narain, Kapil, Dattatreya, Yagya Purush, Rishabhdev, King Prithu, Matsya, Kachchap, Mohini, Dhanvantari, Nrasingh, Vaman, Hans, Haigreev, Parashuram, Ram, Ved Vyas, Balram, Krishn, Buddh and Kalki.

Allegorizing a Divine event is a grave transgression.

It is a common saying that all the descensions of God are absolute and Their forms are eternal. It means that the same Divine descensions always keep on happening in every kalp, and some of them may happen quite a few times during a kalp, and all those forms of descensions always exist.

Out of all the descensions the descensions of Bhagwan Ram and Krishn are the most important from the devotional point of view. Bhagwan Ram established the form of true selfless bhakti and Bhagwan Krishn revealed the ultimate magnificence of the selfless bhakti, which binds even Krishn with its sweet loving string.

Other descensions are occasional descensions meant for a particular purpose. For example: The descension of Ved Vyas was for the reproduction of all the scriptures, and of Kapil was to reveal the Sankhya Darshan; still all these forms are eternal.

Some ignorant materialistic writers have tried to allegorize and compare the descensions of Kachchap, Matsya, Varah and Nrasingh etc. on the lines of the modern evolution theory. (How illogical and unscientific the evolution theory is, has already been discussed in article 44.) You should know that allegorizing a Divine event or misrepresenting the Divine theme of the scriptures that have been produced by our acharyas, is such a grave transgression that could never be redeemed by any amount of good deeds. It directly pollutes the mind of the doer and blocks the spiritual receptivity of his mind.

Divine events are Divine by all means and have Divine purpose behind them. For example: The unimaginably huge Kachchap (tortoise) descension happened when there was a need to hold and to keep the celestial mountain Sumeru floating on the celestial ocean, cheer sagar, during the famous ocean churning event (samudra manthan) of the celestial world. Similarly there are certain Divine reasons for other descensions. Thus, all of these events and descensions are the actual Divine happenings and they must be taken in the same light. One should not try to throw his materiality into the Divine matters.


Copyright 1999 - 2001 H.D. Swami Prakashanand Saraswati

Previous Article | Next Article

Home | Introduction | Author | Articles
Glossary | Abbreviations | Search
Transliteration | Site Map | Links

This site is based on the book
The True History and the Religion of India

The True History and the Religions of India by H.D. Swami Prakashanand Saraswati